The Faculty Senate met in a special called session on Wednesday, April 25, 1984, in room 4, Holden Hall. Senators present were Adamcik, Anderson, Berlin, Burkhardt, Burnett, Coulter, Davis, Dixon, Dvoracek, Elbow, B. Freeman, R. Freeman, Gettel, Goss, Gott, Graves, Havens, Hickerson, Hudson, Khan, McKown, McLaughlin, McVay, Maynard, Pearson, Richardson, Sasser, Shine, Sosebee, Sparkman, Strauss, Sullivan, Teske, Twyman, Williams, Wright, Wunder, Zyla. Absent were Ayoub, Bloomer, Bubany, Chonko, Cummings, Eissinger, Mehta, Vallabhan, and Welton. Oberhelman and Urban were absent because of University business.

Guests who registered were Lewis Hill, Professor of Economics; Richard Harber, Assistant Professor of Economics; James Brink, Professor of History; Jim Noble, Student Association President; Gilbert Dunkley, University Daily and Pat Graves, Avalanche Journal.

Mayer-Oakes, President, called the meeting to order at 3:35 p.m. by announcing the reason for its call by the Agenda Committee. Guests at the meeting were introduced.

On the agenda were two resolutions from the 1983-1984 and 1984-1985 agenda committees drawn in joint executive session.

- A. Resolved that the Faculty Senate call a special meeting of the voting faculty of TTU to discuss the "new tenure policy" (to meet on Friday, April 27 at 2:30 p.m.)
- B. Resolved that the Faculty Senate subsequently conduct a mail ballot of all voting faculty, polling for their "approval" or "disapproval" of the "new tenure policy."

McLaughlin moved adoption of resolution A. The Senate, with no abstentions, voted unanimously in favor of resolution A.

The proposed mail ballot was discussed. Adamcik said that the purpose of the mail ballot is to be able to inform the President of the University and the Board of Regents of the opinion of the faculty on the proposed new tenure policy. Resolution B was adopted with no abstentions and unanimously.

Elbow inquired whether or not other business could be entertained at this time. The chair stated that according to parliamentary rules a majority vote of the senate is required to do so.

Sasser moved to add the following proposal from the AAUP to the agenda.

That the Texas Tech Chapter of AAUP go on record as supporting a motion by the Faculty Senate at its next meeting (April 25, 1984) to entertain a vote of no confidence in President Cavazos on the proposed new tenure policy as presented by the President on Friday, April 20, 1984.

It is, therefore, moved that the Texas Tech Faculty Senate express a vote of no confidence in President Cavazos on the proposed new tenure policy and that the vote should be by ballot.

Respectfully submitted to the Texas Tech Faculty Senate by,

Elizabeth Skid more Sasser

Special Meeting Faculty Senate April 25, 1984 Page 2.

The chair stated that such a motion requires justification as an emergency. Sasser gave the justification.

Several Senators spoke against the AAUP resolution. Adamcik said it was inappropriate; Shine thought untimely. Pearson, Arts & Sciences Senator and the current president of AAUP spoke to indicated that since the issue had been openly aired, the motion was no longer necessary and perhaps premature. Sasser withdrew the motion.

Shine expressed hope that the faculty of TTU will never have to take a vote of no confidence in the University President.

Elbow moved to add to the agenda of the Friday, April 27 meeting a proposal that the faculty be allowed to have a representative at the Board of Regents meeting on May 11, 1984.

The chair ruled Elbow's motion out of order.

Twyman moved to adjourn.

Murray Coulter, Secretary